Christ ChurchCofE Multi Academy Trust

Grow Together, Learn Forever

Welcome toChrist Church
CofE Multi Academy Trust

Grow Together, Learn Forever

Bury Schools Alliance

Our courses for 2022/2023 have now closed. 

Who we are


The Bury Schools Alliance (formerly Bury Teaching Schools Alliance) was formed in 2014 by two National Teaching Schools: Christ Church Primary School Walshaw and Elms Bank High School. Our alliance includes Bury Primary, Secondary and Special Schools with additional strategic partners, BEST Trust, Bury Secondary Learning Collaborative and Manchester Metropolitan University. Our strategic partners oversee the work of the alliance and take responsibility for all our provision. Working together on improving teaching, developing the curriculum, providing high quality staff training, growing future leaders and sharing the expertise already in our schools will have a profound impact - in all our schools and on every single child.

Partner Schools

Bury Schools Alliance (BSA) works collaboratively with a number of schools across Bury to offer Primary, Secondary and SEN School Direct placements.  We value our relationships with Bury schools and encourage our Bury colleagues to support us from the very first stages of recruitment. We take pride that 100% of our School Direct placements have been within the Borough of Bury and are proud to offer our trainees the opportunity to begin teacher training in a Bury school.


BSA, MMU and our partner schools work together to provide high quality, first class training for all our students. Our partner schools are asked to commit to this partnership each year. This ensures that schools are fully aware of, and able to deliver, what is required and expected by the BSA to provide a quality placement. This may mean that placement offers may vary slightly from year to year. Our partner schools also use their specialism to contribute to the recruitment and CPD offer to our School Direct Programmes.

Below is a list of our Primary partner schools where our trainees have been placed (please note that this list is not exhaustive and does not include those schools willing to provide future placements):


Primary Partner Schools

Christ Church CE Primary School

Lowercroft Primary School

Bury and Whitefield Jewish Primary School

Mersey Drive Community Primary School

Christ Church Ainsworth Primary School

Old Hall Primary School

Elton Community Primary School

Radcliffe Hall C.E/Methodist Primary School

Greenmount Primary School

Ribble Drive Community Primary School

Hazlehurst Primary School

St John with St Mark CE Primary School

Higher Lane Primary School

St Margaret’s CE Primary School

Holcombe Brook Primary School

St Mary’s CE Primary School

Hollins Grundy Primary School

Woodbank Primary School

Holly Mount RC Primary School

Unsworth Primary School

Holy Trinity CE Primary School


Our trainees have enjoyed placements at the majority of Bury Secondary Schools and below is a list of our Secondary partner schools:


Secondary Partner Schools

Elms Bank High School

Bury Church of England High School

The Derby High School

The Elton High School

Hazel Wood High School

Parrenthorn High School

St Gabriel’s RC High School

Tottington High School

Woodhey High School